I wrote a column in the Christian Online Fiction
magazine dealing with self-publishing for about two years. Last month I decided
to hang it up to pursue more pressing matters (hopefully movies/television) and
gave notice when I turned in my last editorial. I just found out my final
article will not be published. Since I spent several hours framing it, I
decided I’d post it myself to various outlets. Buckle your seatbelt and read
on.

 

If you are not aware of the
tremendous warfare going on between the forces of good and evil for the minds
of the people of planet Earth, especially the young people, pardon me for
suggesting that you are living in a bubble. God might want you to pop that effervescent
armor and realize that your efforts are needed as a soldier of the Lord who
wields a pen as your weapon of choice. I might be out to brunch here, but it
seems to me that the mainstream publishers have avoided rocking the boat by
publishing materials that might be too radical or too edgy or too hardcore
Christian.  As a result, the mainstream
leaders often abandon the battlefield so they can generate lucrative profit  producing Amish assemble-by-number novels,
detective stories without any cussing where the name of God maybe mentioned and
one of the characters may utter a prayer, but not in the name of Jesus, and
sentimental romances where courting is adorned in Christian apparel  and language but below the surface still reeks
of worldly focus on external glamour, materialism, and shallow sentimentality
that masquerades as love. So exactly what do these observations mean to a
self-published author? It means that there is a niche to fill. Since you don’t
have publishers to please and agents to feed, you can do God’s work unimpeded
by the external forces that put people and their work into boxes of diminutive
size. You have the luxury of being free to go where God wants you to go–if you
have the courage to enter the lion’s den and the strength to swim upstream
against white water.

I have tried to champion the cause
of self-published writers in this column. My goal has been to encourage,
enlighten, and empower those who God has placed a seed within, so that the seed
may germinate and mature into something lovely and inspirational.
Unfortunately, I’ve been operating in a void here and have no clue if I’ve made
any impact. Perhaps I won’t know until Heaven. What I do know is that my season
of writing for Christian Fiction Online Magazine is drawing  to a close. The arrival of bills to be paid
and writing deadlines to be met causes the calendar pages to fly off. There is
nothing I can do about the bills, but one less deadline will give me more time
to focus on projects that I feel are critical. It’s been wonderful to be a part
of CFOM, but the curtain must close. Perhaps sometime I’ll resurrect my crusade
to aid self-pubbed authors in their quest to fulfill God’s call in their lives.
Statistics indicate that few people
are actively engaged in the art of reading. And even a smaller percentage of
those are seeking Christian fiction. In the final analysis of the matter, if I
really want to impact the culture, I must spend my time on things that will
grab the attention of the masses. And I believe the audio-visual media is the
ticket to have the ability to grab someone by the scruff of their soul and unleash
unknown desires and misunderstood emotions that lead people to question their
superficial human existence. And thus my new focus in life will be to write and
produce movies that will combat evolution, the occult, the sexual revolution,
injustice and any other crusade that God might add to my target list as my
vision expands.

 

So I take my puny weapons which
hopefully God will endue with His power and move on to a new battlefield. I
want to leave you with a plea to join God’s army. Use any talents He has given
you to enhance His kingdom and not your own. Almost an entire generation of
young people are lining up to enter the gates of Hell. What will you do to help
God rescue some of them?

 

